State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public December 24 & December 25, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, December 24.

Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation

 

Collection Agencies License Requirements

 

Corporation/LLC
Partnership, Limited Liability Partnership, or Unincorporated Association
Individual or Sole Proprietorship

 

Corporation/LLC

  1. Trade Name - If a trade name is used, provide proof of the trade name registration from the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation. The Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation can be reached at 410-767-1340.
     
  2. Principal Officer Information - Provide a list of names, business and residence addresses, and telephone numbers of each principal officer and director.
     
  3. Experience - Provide a true and correct statement of the business and/or employment for each of the principal officers or members who own or control 10% or more of the Corporation or LLC. Provide a current resume; for each employer listed, include the employer's name and full address, the period of employment with that employer (beginning month/year and ending month/year) the position held, and a description of your duties and responsibilities.
     
  4. Stockholders - A list of the stockholders who own or control 10% or more of the Corporation or LLC.
     
  5. Organizational Documentation - Provide a copy of the current by-laws, articles of incorporation or organization, and operating agreement.
     
  6. Certificate of Good Standing - Provide a current (within the last 12 months) Certificate of Good Standing from the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation (410- 767-1340).
     
  7. Surety Bond - A Surety Bond Form (MSWord document, 35KB, download Word viewer for free) or valid continuation certificate that runs to the Commissioner in the amount of $5,000.00, in favor of the state of Maryland. The bond must be "continuous until cancelled."

Partnership, Limited Liability Partnership, or Unincorporated Association

  1. Principal Officer Information - Provide a list of names, business and residence addresses, and telephone numbers of each principal officer and director.
     
  2. Experience - A true and correct statement of the business and/or employment for each of the general partners, co-venturers, or association members. Provide a current resume; for each employer listed, include the employer's name and full address, the period of employment with that employer (beginning month/year and ending month/year) the position held, and a description of your duties and responsibilities.
     
  3. Organizational Documents - A copy of the partnership agreement, certificate of limited partnership, or articles of association.
     
  4. Trade Name - If a trade name is used, provide proof of the trade name registration from the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation. The Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation can be reached at 410-767-1340.
     
  5. Certificate of Good Standing - A current (within 12 months) Certificate of Good Standing from the Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation (410- 767-1340).
     
  6. Surety Bond - A Surety Bond Form (Word document, 35KB, download Word viewer for free) or valid continuation Certificate that runs to the Commissioner in the amount of $5,000, in favor of the State of Maryland. The bond must be "continuous until cancelled."

Individual or Sole Proprietorship

  1. Experience - A true and correct statement of the business and/or employment. Provide a current resume; for each employer listed, include the employer's name and full address, the period of employment with that employer (beginning month/year and ending month/year) the position held, and a description of your duties and responsibilities.
     
  2. Surety Bond - A Surety Bond Form (MSWord document, 35KB, download Word viewer for free) or valid continuation Certificate that runs to the Commissioner in the amount of $5,000, in favor of the State of Maryland. The bond must be "continuous until cancelled."
     
  3. Trade Name - If a trade name is used, provide proof of the trade name registration from the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation. The Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation can be reached at 410-767-1340.
 
 Applications and Forms  Industry Advisories  Find Someone Who is Licensed