The continuing education standards are prescribed by Md. Code Ann., Financial Institutions § 11-612 and
the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act and include:
- 3 hours of federal law and regulations;
- 2 hours of ethics that shall include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues;
- 2 hours of training related to lending standards for the nontraditional mortgage product market; and
- 1 hour of Maryland instruction on mortgage-related laws.
The continuing education requirements and a list of approved courses can be found on the
For questions about course requirements, providers and approved courses, go to the NMLS
Education Resource Page or call NMLS at 240-386-4444. For other inquiries specific to Maryland
requirements, contact Juan Sempertegui, Director of Licensing at the Office of the Commissioner at 410-230-6102.