State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public November 26 through November 28, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, November 26.

Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation

 

Mortgage Loan Originator Pre-Licensing Education

 

Effective July 1, 2009, the pre-licensing education requirement has been reduced from 40 hours to 20 hours and applies to all mortgage loan originators regardless of experience.

The requirements for mortgage originators are below:

PRE LICENSING REQUIREMENT - 20 Hours

  • Federal Law and Regulations:  3 Hours
  • Ethics, Fraud, Consumer Protection and Fair Lending:  3 Hours
  • Lending Standards for Nontraditional Mortgage Products:  2 Hours
  • Maryland Mortgage-Related Law:  3 Hours
  • Maryland Finders Fee Law:  2 Hours
  • Electives:  7 Hours
 

PROVIDERS AND COURSES FOR USE ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2010 FOR PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2010, PRE-LICENSING COURSES AND PROVIDERS MUST BE APPROVED BY THE NMLS. MARYLAND IS NO LONGER APPROVING PRE-LICENSING COURSES OR PROVIDERS.

FOR THOSE NEEDING TO COMPLETE PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION, THE REQUIREMENTS AND A LIST OF NMLS APPROVED COURSES AND PROVIDERS CAN BE FOUND ON THE NMLS website.

 
 Applications and Forms  Industry Advisories  Find Someone Who is Licensed