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know which employees are exempt 
from minimum wage and overtime 
requirements under Maryland law.  
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Learn more about Maryland’s Wage and Hour 
Law by logging onto:  

labor.maryland.gov/labor/wages/ 
 

 

Before Reading Further: 

This brochure only pertains to the 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law, which is 

different from the Federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act.  

For more information on the 

requirements of the Fair Labor Standards 

Act please visit: www.dol.gov. 
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Employees are exempt from both 
minimum wage and over-time 
requirements if:  
 
 Employed by an employer who is 

engaged in canning, freezing, 
packing, or first processing of 
perishable or seasonal fresh fruits, 
vegetables, or horticultural 
commodities, poultry, or seafood;  

 
 employed in agriculture if the 

employer used no more than 500 
agricultural-worker days per 
quarter during the preceding year. 
An agricultural worker day is any 
day that an employee works at least 
one (1) hour; 

 
 engaged principally in the range 

production of livestock; or 

Exemptions (Continued): 
 
 employed as a hand-harvest laborer and is 

paid on a piece-rate basis in an operation 
that has been and is customarily 
recognized as having been paid on that 
basis if the following applies:  

 
A. The individual commutes daily from 
their permanent residence to the farm 
where he or she is employed and if during 
the preceding calendar year, was 
employed in agriculture less than thirteen 
13 weeks. 

 
OR  

 
B. The individual is under the age of 17, is 
employed on the same farm as a parent or 
guardian, and is paid at the same rate as 
an employee who is at least 17 years old 
on the same farm. (Reminder: teen 
workers must have a minor work permit 
to work in Maryland). 

 

Other employees are entitled to over- 
time after sixty (60) hours per week if:  
 
 Employee is engaged in agriculture 

and exempt from the overtime 
provisions of the federal Act.  

 
Note: Agriculture means work 
performed by a farmer or on a farm as 
incidental to or in conjunction with 
farming operations.  

 

 

Additional Information:  
 
For additional information about the  
Maryland Wage and Hour Law  
exemptions for agricultural workers, 
please contact the Maryland Department 
of Labor, Division of Labor and Industry ,  
Employment Standards Unit at:  
 

410-767-2357  
email: dldliemploymentstandards-

dllr@maryland.gov 
  


