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A tip credit can only be applied if the employee is

- Engaged in an occupation in which the employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 each month in tips:

- Has been informed by the employer about the provisions of the tip credit section of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law; and,
- has kept all of the tips that the employee received. This does not prohibit the pooling of tips.

Tip Credit calculations for employers subject to the Maryland State Minimum Wage Rate

Effective Date Employer Requirement Tip Credit Allowed Total Hourly Rate Due
7/1/14 $3.63 $3.62 $7.25

1/1/15 $3.63 $4.37 $8.00

7/1/15 $3.63 $4.62 $8.25

7/1/16 $3.63 $5.12 $8.75

71117 $3.63 $5.62 $9.25

7/1/18 $3.63 $6.47 $10.10

Tip Credit calculations for employers subject to the Montgomery County Minimum Wage Rate

Effective Date Employer Requirement Tip Credit Allowed Total Hourly Rate Due
7/1/14 $3.63 $3.62 $7.25

10/1/14 $3.63 $4.77 $8.40

1/1/15 $4.00 $4.40 $8.40

7/1/15 $4.00 $4.40 $8.40

10/1/15 $4.00 $5.55 $9.55

7/1/16 $4.00 $6.75 $10.75

7/1/17 $4.00 $7.50 $11.50

7/1/18 $4.00 $7.50 $11.50

Tip Credit calculation for employers subject to the Prince George’s County Minimum \Wage Rate

Effective Date Employer Requirement Tip Credit Allowed Total Hourly Rate Due
7/1/14 $3.63 $3.62 $7.25

10/1/14 $3.63 $4.77 $8.40

10/1/15 $3.63 $5.92 $9.55

10/1/16 $3.63 $7.12 $10.75

10/1/17 $3.63 $7.87 $11.50

Overtime Calculations for Tipped Employees Earning Minimum Wage
In general, overtime is calculated on the basis of each hour over 40 hours that an employee works during one
workweek and an employer shall pay an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly wage.



Overtime Tip Credit calculations for employers subject to the Maryland State Minimum Wage Rate

Effective Date

Employer Requirement

Tip Credit Allowed

Total Hourly Rate Due

7/1/14 $7.26 $3.62 $10.88
1/1/15 $7.63 $4.37 $12.00
7/1/15 $7.76 $4.62 $12.38
7/1/16 $8.01 $5.12 $13.13
71117 $8.26 $5.62 $13.88
7/1/18 $8.68 $6.47 $15.15

Overtime Tip Credit calculatio

ns for employers subject to th

e Montgomery County Minimum Wage Rate

Effective Date

Employer Requirement

Tip Credit Allowed

Total Hourly Rate Due

7/1/14 $7.26 $3.62 $10.88
10/1/14 $7.83 $4.77 $12.60
1/1/15 $8.20 $4.40 $12.60
7/1/15 $8.20 $4.40 $12.60
10/1/15 $8.78 $5.55 $14.33
7/1/16 $9.38 $6.75 $16.13
7/11/17 $9.75 $7.50 $17.25
7/1/18 $9.75 $7.50 $17.25

Overtime Tip Credit calculation for employers subject to the Prince George’s County Minimum Wage Rate

Effective Date Employer Requirement Tip Credit Allowed Total Hourly Rate Due
7/1/14 $7.26 $3.62 $10.88
10/1/14 $7.83 $4.77 $12.60
10/1/15 $8.41 $5.92 $14.33
10/1/16 $9.01 $7.12 $16.13
10/1/17 $9.38 $7.87 $17.25
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