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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



division of occupational and professional licensing
Locksmith Licensing Program


1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 121
               Baltimore, MD 21201



GENERAL INFORMATION – LOCKSMITH LICENSING PROCESS

PLEASE BE AWARE OF THE FOLLOWING WHEN FILING AN APPLICATION TO BECOME A LICENSED LOCKSMITH BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF MARYLAND:

1) LICENSE FEE:  Do not send a fee with your application. If your application is approved, you will be notified and an invoice for your license in the amount of $225 will be mailed to you for payment. Your license will be mailed to you upon receipt of the $225 license fee.
2) YOUR APPLICATION: The owner of a business or the owner’s designee may apply on behalf of the business. Take the time to ensure that you have answered all of the questions on the application and have signed it. Include a passport-size photograph (taken within 6 months) of the owner of the business and each employee.  Incomplete applications will add significant time to the approval process. Corporations: Do not forget to send a copy of your Articles of Incorporation and Certificate of Good Standing along with your application.  If your business is not operating as a corporation, please provide SDAT documentation for your trade name registration. For more information about this go to the Department of Assessments and Taxation “Starting a new business” at http://www.dat.state.md.us/sdatweb/checklist.html 

3) BACKGROUND CHECK: The owner of the business and each employee must undergo a State and Federal criminal background check by providing fingerprints. To be fingerprinted, complete the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services CJIS – Central Repository Livescan Pre-Registration Application (available from the LABOR website: (http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml) and take it with you to your chosen fingerprinting location. The results will be provided to the Department. Disclosure of a conviction is not an automatic bar to licensure. Each reported conviction will be reviewed according to considerations set forth in the Maryland Locksmith Act. 
4) FINGERPRINTING: Fingerprints are now only taken by digital means. LABOR IS NO LONGER A FINGERPRINTING LOCATION. Digital fingerprint locations are available throughout the State, which may be more convenient for your use. For locations, fees, and details, consult the Public Safety and Correctional Services website:  http://www.dpscs.state.md.us/ . Under “Find a Service”, see both “Fingerprinting” and “Background Checks”. 
5) LOCKSMITH EMPLOYEES: Employees who provide locksmith services on behalf of a licensed locksmith business must be cleared for continued employment by undergoing a criminal background check. A separate “Report of Employee” form (available online at http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml) must be completed for each covered employee. Remember, only employees doing actual locksmith work are bound by this requirement.
6) INSURANCE CERTIFICATE: Make sure you provide the “Notice to Insurance Carriers” (available online at http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml) to your carrier. The certificate received by DLLR must name the “State of Maryland Locksmith Licensing Program” as the certificate holder.
7) FIXED BUSINESS ADDRESS: Under Maryland Law you must have a fixed business address to obtain a locksmith license. The following do not qualify as a fixed business address: a hotel or motel room, a motor vehicle or a post office.
(Rev 02/22)
Dlopllocksmiths-labor@maryland.gov | (410) 230-6159 | www.labor.maryland.gov

LARRY HOGAN, GOVERNOR  |  BOYD K. RUTHERFORD, LT. GOVERNOR  |   TIFFANY P. ROBINSON, SECRETARY 
Phone: 410-230-6264 • EMAIL: lhoyt@dllr.state.md.us • INTERNET: www.dllr.maryland.gov

