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Congratulations in deciding to apply for a Maryland Home Improvement Contractor's License. Getting a MHIC license is critical to the success of your home improvement business and it's the law! The MHIC licensing staff looks forward to assisting you. 

Please find an application form for a Maryland Home Improvement Contractor's license attached.  The following are the main elements of the licensing process:

Take and Pass the Licensing Examination given by PSI

· Contact PSI at   www.psiexams.com or  (800)733-9267 for the candidate information bulletin.

· Submit the examination registration form for the home improvement examination to PSI with a check in the amount of $63.00
· Pass the examination with a score of at least 70%. (Examination results are only valid for 2 years.)
· Once you pass the examination you can apply for the license. 

Apply for the MHIC License (Fee $370.00) Please provide the following as noted on the application.  

1.
Trade Name - Prior to registering your Trade name/Partnership/Corporation:

· Call the Commission at 410-230-6309 to check for name availability.

· Then, register your business name with the Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation (410-767-1330) and submit proof of acceptance with your license application.

· If you are trading as a Corporation/LLC you must submit the Articles of Incorporation/Organization and Certificate of Good Standing.

· Out of state corporations must register in Maryland, along with the name and address of the resident agent located in Maryland.

2.
Financial Solvency - the Commission requires that all applicants demonstrate financial solvency.  (Assets - Liabilities = Net Worth)

· If financial solvency is not met. Any applicant who does not meet the financial solvency guidelines may purchase a surety bond or obtain an indemnitor.   

· Surety Bond - you may obtain a two year $20,000.00 Surety 

Bond (must show the name of the individual applicant as well as the company's name) and be signed by the applicant.   https://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/mhicbondagencies
· lndemnitor - lndemnitor must meet the same financial solvency requirements that are required of the applicant.

·  Forms can be obtained online at www.dllr.maryland.gov or you may contact this office at (410-230-6309).
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PHONE: 410-230-6309  •  EMAIL: dloplmhic-dllr@maryland.gov   •   Website:  www.labor.maryland.gov
Larry Hogan, Governor | Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor | Tiffany P. Robinson, secretary

3.
Real Estate & Bank Statements
· A copy of your current real property assessment notice(s) must be enclosed if real estate is listed on your financial statement. You may also include a written appraisal to prove property value from a licensed appraiser. (not more than two years old) For out-of-state property(ies), please include copy of deed. (comparables not accepted)
· The license application must have notarized signature of co-owner(s) of real estate, bank accounts or other assets.

· Submit a copy of the last three months of personal bank statements.  Business accounts are not considered. 

· Vehicles - A copy of title/registration and printout of Kelly Blue Book Value must be provided. (Business vehicles not accepted)

· Other Assets - Must provide proof of ownership and documented proof of value.

4. 
Credit Report

· A current, original credit report from one of the three credit bureaus must accompany your application. (dated within 90 days or less) 

· You have the option of obtaining a credit report from www.annualcreditreport.com

5. 
 Certificate of Liability Insurance - $50,000.00 or more of general liability insurance

     
 Must be submitted. Certificate must:

· Include the name of the individual applicant as well as the company's name.

· Designate the Maryland Home Improvement Commission as the Certificate Holder at the address: 500 N. Calvert Street, Room 306, and Baltimore, Maryland 21202. 

· This insurance must be in effect at all times. 

6.
Conviction(s) 

The Commission reviews all felony convictions, drug offenses and all misdemeanor transactions committed after January 1, 1991.

· Provide a copy of all conviction records, include copies from Maryland and any other jurisdiction. 

· Provide a letter of explanation for each conviction. 

· Provide a letter of completion of Parole/Probation from the designated Parole/Probation Officer. 

7. 
Mail application package with a photo and a check or money order, payable to MHIC 

for $370.00 to:

Maryland Home Improvement Commission

P. O. Box 17409

Baltimore, Maryland 21297-1409

Applications will not be accepted at the Home Improvement Commission.

Please carefully review your application package prior to submission.  If your application is received incomplete, you will have 60 days to submit the remaining documents.  After such time your application will be returned to you and a refund issued. The $20.00 application fee will not be refunded.
            STATE OF MARYLAND

Department of Labor 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Maryland Home Improvement Commission

500 North Calvert Street — Room 306

Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3651

410-230-6309

CONTRACTOR ORIGINAL APPLICATION

LICENSE FEE - $250 (Per Place of Business) 
GUARANTY FUND ASSESSMENT - $100 
APPLICATION PROCESSING FEE $20 TOTAL FEE: $370.00 
APPLICATION MUST BE MAILED TO: 
P0 BOX 17409 
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21297-1409
A. Personal information (Must be completed by individual applicant) 

Full Name ____________________________________________________________________________________
LAST
FIRST
MIDDLE
Home Addres___________________________________________________________________________________


                                                            CITY
              STATE
                 ZIP CODE       COUNTY

Home Telephone Number ________________________
  Fax Number
___________________________________
Email Address __________________________________  Birth Date  ____________  Place of Birth ______________


                                           CITY/STATE

Social Security Number
____________________    Driver's License Number/State     _____________________________


B.   
Business Information

1. Name under which business will be conducted (Please indicate Corporation name, if different):


__________________________________________________________________________________________

Check with MHIC for Business Name Availability prior to Registration with Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation and THEN submit proof to MHIC that your business has been registered

Business Address____________________________________________________________________________
                                                              POST OFFICE BOXES NOT ACCEPTABLE
                                    COUNTY
Business Telephone Number (_______) ______________________________________________________________
Fax   number (_______) _____________________       E-mail address_____________________________________
2.  This business will operate as a:  ( Sole Proprietorship   ( Corporation   ( Partnership   ( LLC

3.  If you are organized as a corporation of partnership, please provide the following information: 

Name of Maryland Resident Agent: ___________________________________________________________

Address: ______________________________________________________________
Street
          City
    
 State
Zip Code
 
4. Federal ID Number: _________________________________________________________________
5. For Corporations only: 
State of Incorporation:
   Date of Certificate of Incorporation: 
  ________________________
For a corporate applicant list the name and address of each officer. For a partnership applicant list the name and address of each partner. For a joint venture applicant list the name and address of each party to the joint venture.

(Attach additional sheet, if necessary)
	(Circle Type) Name.
	Corporate Officer / Partner / Joint Venture Party

Address
	
	

	Name
	(First)
	(Middle)
	(Last)
	Address
	(Street)
	(City)
	(State)

	Name
	(First)
	(Middle)
	(Last)
	Address
	(Street)
	(City)
	(State)

	Name
	(First)
	(Middle)
	(Last)
	Address
	(Street)
	(City)
	(State)

	
	(First)
	(Middle)
	(Last)
	
	(Street)
	(City)
	(State)


Notwithstanding the license and renewal fees listed above, an applicant or licensee that is incorporated or has its principal office in another state shall pay to the Commission the fee imposed in that state on a similar nonresident business if that fee is higher.

6. For All Applicants.

Overall Estimated Gross Profit Per Year:  

   $ _________________
Average Estimated Profit Per Individual Contract:
$ _________________
What Type of Home Improvements will the company perform? _________________________________________________________
C. General Liability Insurance

1. Liability Insurance

Every Licensed Home Improvement Contractor is required to maintain a minimum of $50,000 General Liability Insurance, written by an Insurance Company approved by the Maryland Insurance Administration. This insurance must show the Personal and Business name as insured and the Maryland Home Improvement Commission must be listed as the Certificate Holder. Insurance information provided with the application may be audited; failure to comply with the requirements of this law may lead to disciplinary action.
a. Insurance Company __________________________________________

b. Policy Number
Expiration Date


c. Agent
Phone Number


Agent's Address


D. Required Information
1. Has the applicant, or any of the proprietors, partners, corporate officers, or management staff of the sole proprietorship, partnership or corporation:
a. Ever been convicted of a misdemeanor ?     ( Yes  ( No 

If YES, explain on a separate sheet
b. Ever owned any interest in a licensed home improvement business? ( Yes   ( No

If YES, explain on a separate sheet

c. Ever been employed by any licensed home improvement contractor or subcontractor?

( Yes    ( No° If YES, explain on: a separate sheet.
d. Ever been convicted of operating as a home improvement contractor, subcontractor or salesperson without a license? ( Yes  ( No
If YES, explain on a separate sheet.

       2. Does the applicant provide lead abatement services?  Please circle:      Yes          No

If yes, please provide the Department of the Environment lead paint abatement accreditation number _________________ accreditation expiration date       ___________________
3. The applicant is aware that it is the contractor's obligation to ensure that all salespersons hired by the contractor are licensed by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission.       ( Yes, I understand
       ( No, I don't understand
Signature

NOTICE 

• Application fees are automatically deposited in a bank to meet auditing requirements. (A canceled check does
not guarantee a license application has been approved.) Applicants will be mailed a license upon approval or refunded their fees (less a $20 processing fee) should the application be denied.
E. Co-Owner's Signature Must be signed in Notary's presence) 
As the undersigned Co-Owner(s) of assets held with the applicant, I/we jointly and severally bind myselflourselves to be considered in the same position as the principal who is applying for the license. I/we agree to subject any and all of my/our personal and/or real property to be used as security in the event of default by the applicant.


                                __​​​​​​​​​​​​​​________________________________ 
Co-Owner's Signature                                                                       Print Name of Co-Owner

                                __​​​​​​​​​​​​​​________________________________ 

Co-Owner's Signature                                                                       Print Name of Co-Owner

                                __​​​​​​​​​​​​​​________________________________ 

Co-Owner's Signature                                                                       Print Name of Co-Owner
Signed, Sealed and Dated this
day of
, before me personally appeared


to me known to be the person(s) of the jointly owned 

asset(s), who signed the foregoing instrument and acknowledged execution of the same to me.

Seal
Notary Public
  My Commission expires: 


       Month/Year

Certification:

I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that the information contained in my application is true and correct. I authorize the release of all financial information contained within this application to an authorized representative of the Department of Labor for further investigation as related to a Home Improvement License approval. I further certify that I have paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions payable to the Comptroller of Maryland or the Maryland Department of Labor or have provided for payment in a manner satisfactory to the unit responsible for collection.
I authorize Maryland Home Improvement Commission to obtain and review my personal credit report for this license application, and prior to the expiration of my license during any future licensing period.
I understand that every licensee is required, within ten days after a change of control, ownership or management, or change of address or trade name, to notify the Executive Director of  the Maryland Home Improvement Commission of the change by certified mail, return receipt requested and submit with the required fee.
	SIGNATURE
	
	DATE


Revised: October 2019

CURRENT ASSETS 

	Cash in
	
	$
	

	
	Name of Bank
	
	

	Cash in
	
	
	

	
	Name of Bank
	$
	

	Submit copy of current 3 months personal bank statements

	Stocks, Bonds, etc. Market value
	$
	

	Submit proof of value
	
	

	
	Total
	$
	


	Real Estate — Give locations and a copy of your current Tax Assessment(s). You may also include a written appraisal to prove property value. Provide a deed for out of state property.

	1.
	
	
	$

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	2.
	
	
	$

	
	
	
	

	
	Total
	
	$


	Other Assets — For Vehicles — Copy of Title and printout of Kelly Bluebook value must be provided. Other assets will be considered at the discretion of the Commission.

	1.
	
	
	$

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	2.
	
	
	$

	
	
	
	

	
	Total
	
	$


	Total Assets
	$
	

	
	


Revised: August 2019


CURRENT LIABILITIES (From Credit Report)

Creditors

	1.
	To
	
	
	BAl. Due
	$
	

	2.
	To
	
	
	BAl. Due
	$
	

	3.
	To
	
	
	BAl. Due
	$
	

	4.
	To
	
	
	BAl. Due
	$
	

	5.
	To
	
	
	BAl. Due
	$
	

	6.
	To
	
	
	BAl. Due
	$
	


	Past Due $
	

	
	Total $
	


	
	Income taxes (Unpaid Balance)
	

	Federal
	$
	

	State
	$
	

	Total
	$
	


	Open Judgments/ Liens 
	
	
	

	Date & Description (on separate page)
	
	
	

	1.
	
	$
	

	
	
	
	

	2.
	
	$
	

	
	Total
	$
	


Provide name of mortgage holder and Balance due.

	1.
	
	$
	

	2.
	
	$
	

	3.
	
	$
	

	
	Total Mortgages
	$
	


Other Liabilities

	1.
	
	$
	

	2.
	
	$
	

	
	Total Other Liabilities 
	$
	


	Total Liabilities
	$
	


	Net Worth 
	$
	

	(Must be $20,000 or more)
	
	

	(Assets minus Liabilities = net worth
	
	


DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE �OFFICE RECORD


DATE RECEIVED�
�
�
CONTACTOR'S LIC. NO.:�
�
�
PROCESSED BY�
�
�
APPROVED BY:�
�
�















�
�
�
�
�
�
Applicant’s Name:�
S.S. #:�
Date:�
�






PERSONAL FINANCIAL STATEMENT�Answer all Questions, Use additional page if needed.








