REQUIREMENTS FOR GETTING A HOME 

IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE
1. Trade Name – Prior to registering your Trade name/Partnership/Corporation:

a. Check with the Commission for name availability.
b. Register your business name with the Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation (410-767-1330) and submit proof of acceptance with your license application.

c. If you are trading as a Corporation/LLC you must submit the Articles of Incorporation/Organization and Certificate of Good Standing. 
d.  Out of state corporations must register in Maryland, along with the name and address of the resident agent located in Maryland.
2. Financial Solvency – the Commission requires that all applicants demonstrate financial solvency. (Assets-Liabilities=Net Worth)
· If financial solvency is not met, you may obtain a two year $20,000.00 Surety Bond (must show person and business name) and be signed by the applicant.
· Indemnitor – Indemnitor must meet the same financial solvency requirements

· Forms can be obtained online at www.dllr.state.md.us or you may contact this office at (410-230-6309).
3. Real Estate & Bank Statements

· A copy of your current real property assessment notice(s) must be enclosed if real estate is listed on your financial statement.  You may also include a written appraisal to prove property value from a licensed appraiser.(not more than two years old) For out-of-state property(ies), please include copy of deed. (Comparables not accepted)
· The license application must have notarized signature of co-owner(s) of real estate, bank accounts or other assets.
· Submit a copy of the last three months of personal bank statements.  Business accounts are not considered.
· Vehicles – A copy of title/registration and printout of Kelly Blue Book Value must be provided. (Business vehicles not accepted)
· Other Assets- Must provide proof of ownership and documented proof of value.

4. Credit Report

· A current, original credit report from one of the three credit bureaus must accompany your application. (dated within 90 days or less)
· You have the option of obtaining a credit report from www.annualcreditreport.com

5. Certificate of Liability Insurance - $50,000.00 or more of  general liability insurance must be submitted.  Certificate must:
· Include the name of the individual applicant as well as the company’s name.
· Designate the Maryland Home Improvement Commission as the certificate holder at
·  the address: 500 N. Calvert Street, Room 306, Baltimore, Maryland 21202.
6. Conviction(s)
· The Commission reviews all felony convictions and all
· drug offenses committed after January 1, 1991, and misdemeanors related to home improvement transactions.
· Provide a copy of all conviction records, include copies from Maryland and any other jurisdiction. 
· Provide letter of explanation for each conviction.

· Provide a letter of completion of Parole/Probation from the designated Parole/Probation Officer.
7. Mail application package with a photo and a check or money order, payable to MHIC  for $370.00 to:
Maryland Home Improvement Commission




P.O. Box 17410





Baltimore, Maryland  21297-1410
Applications will not be accepted at the Home Improvement Commission. Thank you.
