
Helping contractors and employees 
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for state service contracts that  
exceed $100,000*  

(*certain exemptions apply) 
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Phone: 410-767-2365  
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Learn more about Maryland’s Living Wage Law by 
logging onto:  

www.dllr.maryland.gov/labor/prev/livingwage.shtml 
 

 

Maryland 

Living Wage 
Living Wage for State Service Contracts 

 
Welcome to the Division of Labor and Industry’s 
Living Wage for State Service Contracts unit. 
The Living Wage unit ensures that contractors 
and subcontractors pay a living wage to  
employees performing work on certain state  
service contracts in excess of $100,000 (certain 
exemptions apply). If an employer has a con-
tract above this amount with the State of Mary-
land to provide services, and if an employee 
provides direct, measurable work under that 
contract, that employee is more than likely cov-
ered by the State’s Living Wage Law. If you are 
unsure if you are covered by the Living Wage 
Law, or if you think your employer is not paying 
you the      required amount, please visit our 
website at: 

www.dllr.maryland.gov/labor/prev/
livingwage.shtml 

for more information or to file a claim. You may 
also call the number on the back of this bro-
chure.  
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What is the Living Wage Law? 
 
The Living Wage Law authorizes the 
Commissioner of Labor and Industry to 
administer and enforce the law.  
 
The Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry is required to adjust the wage 
rates based on the Consumer Price 
Index and to allow certain reductions to 
the wage rates. These laws establish 
and enforce wage standards for 
workers from private businesses 
receiving contracts or subsidies from 
local governments.  
 
Living Wage ensures that the hourly 
rate earned by an individual working 
full-time on a State project valued at 
either $100,000 or more if the 
contractor has more than ten (10) 
employees or $500,000 or more if the 
contractor has less than then (10) 
employees, is sufficient enough to 
support their families.  
 
 
 

Services Covered Under the Living  
Wage Law 
 
Under the Living Wage Law, services covered 
include maintenance services and information 
technology services. However, services NOT 
included are construction, construction-
related services, architectural and engineering 
services, energy performance contracts, 
supplies (including commodities and printing), 
real property, or the purchase of goods.  

Services Exempt from the Living Wage 
Law 
 
State service contracts that are: 
 Under $100,000 in value. 
 Under $500,000 in value if the 

contractor has ten (10) or fewer 
employees. 

 Services needed immediately to 
prevent or respond to imminent 
threat to public health or safety. 

 Services with employees who work 
less than thirteen (13) consecutive 
weeks on the contract. 

 A public service company; 
 A non-profit organization; 
 Between units (interagency 

agreements). 
 Between a unit and a county or 

Baltimore City. 
 
For more information on services covered 
and exemptions, please log onto:  

www.dllr.maryland.gov/labor/prev/
livingwage.shtml 

and click on Frequently Asked Questions 
(FAQs). 
 

Living Wage Rates 
 
The current Living Wage rates are: 
 Tier 1—$13.96 per hour: Anne Arundel 

County, Baltimore City, Baltimore,    How-
ard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s 
Counties 

 
 Tier 2—$10.49 per hour: Any county in 

the State not included in the Tier 1 area 
for each hour you work on that contract.  

 
Rates listed depend on the location where the 
services are performed or on the location  
benefiting from the work. The rates change 
each year and are published 90 days from the 
end of the state fiscal year.  
 
 


