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Consent Order

This matter comes before the Maryland Real Estaie Commission (“Commission”)
as the result of an audit of continuing education hours conducted by the Commission in
connection with the 2010 renewal application of Fred J. Riley. As a result of the audit, it
was determined that the Respondent did not complete the required hours of continuing
education instruction for renewal of license. As a means of resolving this matter, the
Commission and the Respondent have agreed to enter into this Consent Order, and agree
and stipulate to the following:

1. On 06/16/2010 the Respondent submitted an electronic application for the
renewal of a Salesperson’s license for the (2008-2010) renewal period.

2. Pursuant to Section 17-315 of the Business Occupations and Professions

Article, Maryland Annotated Code, the Respondent was required to complete 15
hours of continuing education instruction during the two year period preceding the
renewal date of 06/16/2010.

3. The Respondent failed to complete the required number of hours, but certified on
the renewal application dated 06/16/2010, that the continuing education requirement

had been fulfilled. The failure to obtain the continuing education hours was in



violation of Section 17-315 of the Business Occupations and Professions Article,
Maryland Annotated Code.

4. The Respondent agrees that the licensee will complete 1.5 hours of continuing
education instruction in the categories enumerated by the Commission in the
Checklist attached to this Consent Order and incorporated herewith. Those hours
must be in the form of credits from an approved Maryland Provider as defined by
COMAR 09.11.06.01. The credits may not be used for any other renewal period, and
are above and beyond the requirements for any present or future renewals.

5. As aterm and condition of this Consent Order, the Respondent agrees to complete
the required continuing education hours stated in Paragraph 4, within sixty (60) days
of the date of this Consent Order, and to, upon completion of all of the required
hours, provide the Commission with the original certificates verifying completion in
accordance with COMAR 09.11.06.04.

6. The Respondent further agrees to pay a fine in the amount of
Fifteen Hundred Dollars ($1500) in connection with the violation of Section 17-315,
Business Occupations and Professions Article, Maryland Annotated Code. In
addition, the Respondent will pay a fee in the amount of $100 for the administrative
costs associated with this matter. The fee and fine are to be paid within sixty (60)
days of the date of this Consent Order.

7. The Respondent waives the right to an investigation of the violation, the issuance
of charges, and a formal hearing in this matter.

8. The Respondent agrees that all licenses held by the Respondent will automatically

be suspended by the Commission, without a hearing, if the Respondent fails to



&

comply with the terms of this Consent Order. The Respondent further agrees that the
suspension of license will continue until the Respondent evidences compliance.
9. The Respondent and the Commission understand that this Consent Order will
serve as the Final Order in this matter and be a part of the Respondent’s licensing
record maintained by the Commission. The Commission’s records and publications
will reflect the terms of the Consent Order.

WHEREFORE, based on these stipulations and agreements, it is hereby this

e
%2 Z day of j;ﬂ 1524 =2 ,2010, ORDERED by the Commission:

I.  That the Respondent has been found to have violated Section 17-315 of the
Business Occupations and Professions Article, Maryland Annotated Code.
II. That the Respondent shall complete 1.5 hours of continuing education in the
categories enumerated in the Checklist attached to and incorporated with this
| Consent Order. The hours must be completed within sixty (60) days of the date of
this Consent Order.

III.  That upon completion of the hours, but no later than sixty (60) days from the date
of this Consent Order, the Respondent shall provide the Commission with all of
the original certificates of completion for the continuing education hours required.

IV.  That the Respondent shall pay a fee of $100 in connection with the administration
of this matter, and a fine of $1500.00 in connection with the violation within 30
days of the date of this Consent Order.

V. That in the event the terms and conditions of this Consent Order are not met by
the Respondent within the time described, the Commission will immediately

suspend all real estate licenses held by the Respondent, without a hearing on the
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