State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public November 26 through November 28, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, November 26.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

New and Information - Maryland Home Improvement Commission

 

New!  Notice to Customers of Welsh Construction & Remodeling, LLC

Important Notice from the Maryland Home Improvement Commission to Applicants and Licensees Regarding Fees

Effective October 1, 2011, the fees for a MHIC license are:

Original Applications

Application fee - $20.00

License fee:
     Salesperson $ 100
     Subcontractor $ 150
     Contractor $ 250 per place of business

Contractor's Guaranty Fund Assessment is $100.00

Renewal Applications

Renewal Fees
     Salesperson $ 100
     Subcontractor $ 150
     Contractor $ 250 per place of business

  • Contractor's Guaranty Fund Assessment is $150.00.
     
  • Credit reports obtained by MHIC require a fee of $ 5.00.

Notwithstanding the license and renewal fees listed above, an applicant or licensee that is incorporated or has its principal office in another state shall pay to the Commission the fee imposed in that state on a similar nonresident business if that fee is higher.

For more information, please contact MHIC at 410-230-6309 or mhic@dllr.state.md.us.

DLLR Investigation Leads to Conviction of Unlicensed Contractors

Enforcement Alert - Lead-Based Paint

Meeting Minutes

Shore Erosion Control Projects Now Under Jurisdiction Of Home Improvement Commission

During the 2008 session, the Maryland General Assembly enacted House Bill 1253, which amends the jurisdiction of the Home Improvement Commission.

Effective July 1, 2008, the Home Improvement Law has been amended to add to the definition of "home improvement" work: "a shore erosion control project, as defined under Section 8-1001 of the Natural Resources Article, for residential property." This means that, as of July 1, 2008, contractors who construct erosion control projects, such as bulkheads and "rip-rap," along the shoreline of residential property are required to hold a home improvement contractor license from the Home Improvement Commission. The Home Improvement Commission licensing requirement also applies to contractors who construct other improvements, such as decks and piers, which are attached to the shoreline of residential property.

Guaranty Fund Assessments

The Guaranty Fund is paid for through contractors' assessments. Each contractor pays $100 into the Fund when applying for a new license. Upon renewal, the assessment fee per contractor is $150 every two years.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR LICENSEES

For renovations performed in pre -1978 housing for compensation you may need to have lead abatement accreditation and provide homeowners with lead information.  Contact the EPA and the Maryland Department of the Environment.

  • A contractor or subcontractor who holds a license under the Maryland home improvement law is not required to hold a construction license issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court.
  • New home builders must register with the Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General.
  • Contractors must display their home improvement license number on all of their home improvement contracts, trucks, and advertisements.
  • Home improvement contracts cannot require the payment of more than one third of the total contract price at the time of signing the contract.
  • Arbitration clauses in contracts must be clearly disclosed and initialed by both parties.
  • Licensees must notify the Executive Director of the Commission within 10 days of a change of address, trade name or ownership of the business by certified mail, return receipt requested.
  • Checks sent to the Commission with applications go directly to a bank due to auditing requirements. A cancelled check is not proof of licensure. Only the hard copy of the actual license is proof of licensure.