State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public December 24 & December 25, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, December 24.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

Veterans Full Employment Act of 2013 - DLLR and MHIC Support Our Country's Military Heroes - License - Maryland Home Improvement Commission

 

Exam Fee Waivers, Expedited Licensing Processing, Consultations, and Mentoring Sessions for Heroes

A new law, the Veterans Full Employment Act of 2013, which Governor O'Malley recently signed, provides an important opportunity for veterans who wish to pursue a career in the home improvement profession. Under this law, veterans receive credit toward the MHIC trade experience requirement for licensure and may obtain an expedited temporary contractor license. In addition, MHIC expedites all license applications for veterans and, in conjunction with PSI Exams, is waiving the exam registration fee for all veterans.

Credit Toward Trade Experience Requirement
Under this law, a former or active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces, a reserve unit, or the National Guard of any State shall receive credit for all relevant experience, training, or education gained as a service member toward the two-year trade experience requirement for a contractor license. This means that an individual who has accumulated at least 2 years of relevant experience, training, or education through the military will be eligible to sit for the contractor exam. The subcontractor and salesperson exam does not require proof of trade experience.

Expedited Temporary Licenses
In addition, active duty service members assigned to a duty station in Maryland, their spouses, and certain other veterans and their spouses may be eligible to receive an expedited temporary license while preparing to take the MHIC license exam. Veterans and their spouses qualify under this program if (1) the veteran was discharged from active duty within 1 year from the date their application is received by MHIC (and the discharge was honorable); (2) the veteran or spouse holds a valid home improvement contractor license in good standing from another state; (3) the veteran or spouse has established legal residence in Maryland; (4) the veteran or spouse has submitted the full application for a MHIC license; and (5) has paid the application fee, Guaranty Fund assessment and license fee.

Renewing an Expired MHIC License
Any licensee who is a member of an armed force deployed outside the State may renew their MHIC license after the expiration of the renewal period if the late renewal is a direct result of the deployment.

MHIC License Consultation
If you would like to meet with a member of the MHIC licensing team to discuss your options or to review your application, please send an email to mhic@dllr.state.md.us or call 410-230-6171 to schedule a confidential appointment today.

Mentoring Sessions with MHIC Licensed Contractors
Service members, veterans and their spouses will also be invited to participate in mentoring sessions with members of the Commission and other MHIC licensed contractors, who will share their experiences and offer tips on building a successful home improvement business. For more information about the mentoring sessions please send an email to mhic@dllr.state.md.us or call 410-230-6171.

How To Apply for an Expedited Temporary MHIC License

Any eligible service member, veteran, or military spouse may apply for an expedited temporary MHIC contractor license by completing the following steps:

  1. Complete the DLLR license application form for veterans indicating the date of your discharge from active duty and deliver it to MHIC within one year of the discharge date;
     
  2. Include a copy of a valid home improvement contractor license issued in your name and a certificate of good standing for the license from another State;
     
  3. Provide evidence that you are assigned to a duty station in Maryland or have established legal residence in Maryland;
     
  4. Enclose a certificate of general liability insurance for at least $50,000 that includes your name and lists MHIC as the certificate holder;
     
  5. Complete a personal financial statement and enclose three months of personal bank statements;
     
  6. Complete the exam registration form; an exam fee is not required;
     
  7. Send a check or money order payable to MHIC for $370.00;
     
  8. If the license will be issued in a business name, then also submit a copy of the organizing documents (i.e., Articles of Incorporation) that have been filed with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation, including a Certificate of Good Standing.
     
  9. Send a copy of an unexpired Government-issued identification card that contains your name and a photograph.
     
  10. If you would like to meet with a member of the MHIC licensing team to discuss your application, please call 410-230-6171 to schedule a confidential appointment today. Your application will be reviewed on the same day you apply.

How to Apply for An Expedited MHIC License

Any eligible service member, veteran, or military spouse may apply for an expedited MHIC contractor license by completing the following steps:

  1. Complete the DLLR license application form for veterans indicating the date of your discharge from active duty and deliver it to MHIC within one year of the discharge date;
     
  2. If applicable, include a copy of a valid home improvement contractor license issued in your name and a certificate of good standing for the license from another State;
     
  3. Provide evidence that you are assigned to a duty station in Maryland or have established legal residence in Maryland;
     
  4. Enclose a certificate of general liability insurance for at least $50,000 that includes your name and lists MHIC as the certificate holder;
     
  5. Complete a personal financial statement and enclose three months of personal bank statements;
     
  6. Complete the exam registration form; an exam fee is not required;
     
  7. Send a check or money order payable to MHIC for $370.00;
     
  8. If the license will be issued in a business name, then also submit a copy of the organizing documents (i.e., Articles of Incorporation) that have been filed with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation, including a Certificate of Good Standing.
     
  9. Send a copy of an unexpired Government-issued identification card that contains your name and a photograph.
     
  10. If you would like to meet with a member of the MHIC licensing team to discuss your application, please call 410-230-6171 to schedule a confidential appointment today. Your application will be reviewed on the same day you apply.

If you have any questions, please contact MHIC at 410-230-6171 or mhic@dllr.state.md.us.