Skip to Main Content

Licensing Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) - Stationary Engineers

  1. How do I apply for the examination?
  2. Application Process - How long does it take to process my application?
  3. Exam Preparation - Is there a course to prepare for the required exam? Is any course required in order to apply for a stationary engineer license?
  4. Exam Retakes - I did not pass the exam. What do I need to do to retake it?
  5. Felony Convictions - When I was younger, I was convicted of a felony. Can I still obtain a stationary engineer license?
  6. Out-of-State license - I am licensed in another state. I don’t have an office in Maryland, but I would like to provide services there. Do I need a separate license for the state of Maryland?
  7. Paper License - My license is showing up on your website as active; however, we have not yet received our license in the mail.
  8. How do I register my license and do I get a new number each time I add a new qualification or category?
  9. Reciprocity - I am licensed in another state. Do I still have to take the exam for Maryland?
  10. How do I renew my license that has been expired for a while?
  11. Can I skip over a grade and get the next level license?

1. How do I apply for the examination?
To register for the exam, please contact PSI Exams online or 1-800-733-9267. On the PSI homepage, click on Government/State Licensing Agencies, then select Maryland as the jurisdiction and select MD Stationary Engineers as the account. Then click on download Candidate Information Bulletin. The forms to order a study guide and to register for the exam are contained in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

2. Application Process - How long does it take to process my application?
There is no set time frame for processing an application. It is processed through PSI, Inc. the board’s test vendor. Once the application is approved, the applicant's complete information is updated at PSI, Inc. and an e-mail or a letter is issued to notify the applicant of examination approval.

3. Exam Preparation - Is there a course to prepare for the required exam? Is any course required in order to apply for a stationary engineer license?
There is no required course for the license examinations. However, many community colleges offer preparatory courses.

4. Exam Retakes - I did not pass the exam. What do I need to do to retake it?
If you did not pass the exam, then you must wait for 30 days to reapply. Any subsequent requests cannot be made until 60 days have passed. You must pay the exam fee each time.

5. Felony Convictions - When I was younger, I was convicted of a felony. Can I still obtain a stationary engineer license?
Each applicant is required to report to all prior convictions of a felony or a misdemeanor criminal offense. The applicant must provide a "true-test copy” of the court docket from the clerk's office of the court where the conviction was entered. The board is required to consider certain factors before granting or denying, or, if convicted during a license cycle, renewing a license application when an applicant or licensee has been convicted of a criminal offense. The board’s evaluation will include consideration of the nature of the crime; the relationship of the crime to the activities authorized by the license; the relevance of the conviction to the fitness and qualification of the applicant or licensee to provide electrical services; the length of time since the conviction; and the behavior and activities of the applicant or licensee before and after the conviction.

6. Out-of-State license - I am licensed in another state. I don’t have an office in Maryland, but I would like to provide services there. Do I need a separate license for the state of Maryland?
An individual who provides stationary engineer services in Maryland is required to hold a stationary engineer license in the appropriate grade for the plant of machinery issued by the board. This is true regardless of whether the stationary engineer holds a license in another state. It is also true even if the stationary engineer does not reside in or have an office in Maryland.

7. Paper License - My license is showing up on your website as active; however, we have not yet received our license in the mail.
Once an individual passes the license examination, the applicant must register the license number with the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. Each licensee is mailed
a paper copy of the stationary engineer license. A letter with instructions to register a
the license should arrive within 10 business days after passing the exam.

8. How do I register my license and do I get a new number each time I add a new qualification or category?
Once you have successfully passed the license examination, you may go online to register your license number. Your license number will remain the same number that was originally issued. You will sign in by creating a password if you do not have one or by using your existing password.

9. Reciprocity - I am licensed in another state. Do I still have to take the exam for Maryland?
Yes, the board does not currently engage in reciprocal licensing with another state or jurisdiction.

10. How do I renew my license that has been expired for a while?
Any license that has been expired over 24 consecutive months cannot be renewed. You must sit for the exam to obtain your license again.

11. Can I skip over a grade and get the next level license?
Approval for examination is based on experience the steam generated by and horsepower of the machinery with which the individual has work experience. The board reviews applications on a case-by-case basis and approves them based on the amount of experience and the horsepower of machinery used.