The Board of Individual Tax Preparers requires registered tax preparers to complete, upon renewal
(every two years), at least 16 hours of continuing education. The regulations for CPE have been adopted and can be found at
COMAR 09.38.02. Four
of the 16 hours must be in Maryland state tax-related subjects. Maryland law says that the individual must complete the 16-hour
requirement every two years, as a condition of renewal, Section 21-309(a) of Title 16, Business Occupations and
Professions, Annotated Code of Maryland. Therefore, the two-year time period would run from the date of registration.
The following is a link to the CPE Audit Checklist, which can be used to keep a record and a running total of CPE hours.
Upon renewal, the "total hours earned" should equal at least 16. If asked by the Board to submit proof of CPE hours, this
Checklist should be certified with your signature and submitted with course documentation.
Professional Education Audit Checklist (Excel document, 58KB,
download Excel viewer for free)