Doing Plumbing Work in Maryland Without A License or Insurance? Worth Going to Jail? - Plumbing
If you provide, attempt to provide, or offer to provide plumbing or gas services in the state of Maryland without a license issued by the Maryland State Board of Plumbing, you are violating the state law and running a risk of going to jail. You must hold the proper category of license issued by the Maryland Board of Plumbing in order to provide plumbing, propane gas, or natural gas services in the state.
Apprentices must be licensed, supervised and under the control of a master or journey level state licensee present on the jobsite. Apprentices cannot legally do any plumbing or gas work alone.
While a journey plumber license is in effect, it authorizes the licensee to provide plumbing services only under the direction and control of a master plumber or a holder of a limited master plumber license.
Master Plumber – Insured
Only insured master plumbers can enter into contracts to perform plumbing or gas services. Each master plumber must display the master plumber license and the license number conspicuously in the principal place of business of the master plumber; and the license number of the master plumber license on each vehicle used on the job for providing plumbing services.
|Penalties: Failure to be properly licensed can result in a fine up to $100 or imprisonment up to six months or both for each day that the violation continues, or up to $5,000 for each violation.|
A master plumber or holder of a limited master plumber license may not contract to provide plumbing services on behalf of the master plumber, holder of a limited master plumber license, or another person who engages in the business of providing plumbing services unless the plumbing work of the master plumber or holder of a limited master plumber license is covered by liability insurance, including completed operations: (1) for bodily injury in the amount of at least $300,000; and (2) for property damage in the amount of at least $100,000.
|Penalties: Any person who knowingly and willfully fails to have insurance coverage is subject to a fine up to $1,000 or imprisonment up to six months or both.|
For additional information about the licensing and insurance requirements, please visit the Maryland Department of Labor website or contact the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing at 410-230-6231.