State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public November 26 through November 28, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, November 26.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

Links to Maryland Law and Regulations - Licensing of Locksmith Businesses

 

Note: To access the Maryland Code Annotated, from the link below, select the “Maryland Code” folder, then select the individual folders or links provided to delve into the volumes, chapters, and/or sections of the publication.

Operating Without a License

Criminal Penalties

§12.5-505
(a) Except as otherwise provided in Title 12.5, a person may not act as, offer to act as, hold oneself out as, or impersonate a locksmith in the State unless the person is a licensee or employee of a licensee.
(b) A person that violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, on first conviction, is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000 and, on second or subsequent conviction, is subject to a fine not exceeding $5,000.

Civil Action by the Secretary of DLLR

§12.5-506
(a) Subject to the notice and hearing provisions of Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the State Government Article, the Secretary may bring a civil administrative action against a person that violates §12.5-505(a) of this subtitle.
(b) After a hearing, if the Secretary finds that a person has violated §12.5-505(a) of this subtitle, the Secretary may:
     (1) order the person to cease and desist from unlawful practice; and
     (2) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $100 for each day of unlawful practice.
(c) Any person aggrieved by a decision and order of the Secretary under this section may take an appeal as allowed in Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the State Government Article.