DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

Notice of Owners and Operators - Licensing Requirements - Maryland Board of Stationary Engineers

 

The Maryland Board of Stationary Engineers ("Board") notifies all owners and operators of boilers and plants of machinery in the State to ensure that such individuals are informed of the licensing requirements for the safe operation of such equipment. Maryland law requires that an individual be licensed by the Board in order to provide stationary engineer services in the State (Maryland Code Annotated, Business Occupations and Professions Article, Sections 6.5-101 - 6.5-502). The Board is concerned that individuals who are either unlicensed, or who do not hold the appropriate license, may be providing stationary engineer services in the State. In addition to being a violation of State law, the provision of stationary engineer services by an unlicensed and under-licensed individual poses a serious risk to public safety and may subject the equipment owner, as well as the individual who provides stationary engineer services without the appropriate State license, to administrative sanctions and criminal prosecution.

Please take a moment to review the licensing requirements for operators and to make sure that applicable boilers and plants of machinery located in your plant or business are overseen and operated safely and lawfully. The Maryland Stationary Engineers Act ("Act") governs equipment that operates at a pressure of more than 15 PSI and 30 or more horsepower (1,003,000 Btu/hr or1034 lb/hr steam or greater) with the following operating horsepower limits for each grade:

Grade 5 -- 30 to 99 horsepower (in a building not open for public use);
Grade 4 - 30 to 99 horsepower (in any building regardless of use);
Grade 3 - 100 to 299 horsepower (in any building);
Grade 2 - 300 to 499 horsepower (in any building); and
Grade 1 - 500 or more horsepower (in any building).

The Act further prohibits any person from allowing an individual to provide services as a stationary engineer if the individual does not hold an appropriate license issued by the Board. Any person who violates these requirements is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine up to $1,000 or imprisonment up to 6 months, or both. For a second or subsequent violation, the individual is subject to a fine up to $5,000, or imprisonment up to 2 years, or both. In addition, the Board may impose a civil penalty up to $5,000 per violation.

The Board provides this information to owners to ensure that such equipment is operated and overseen by an appropriately licensed individual. The licensing requirements are based upon the horsepower and operating pressure of the largest, single piece of equipment that is subject to regulation by the Act as set forth above.